THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD

THE EXCELLENCY

OF GOD

 

Psalm 148:13

Let them praise the name of the Lord: for his name alone is excellent; his glory is above the earth and heaven.

 

 

 

 

ISRAEL EZIEDO

 

 

 

DEDICATION

This book is dedicated to the Lord Jesus Christ – my eternal Father and God and King; the Maker of Heaven and earth for His pleasure and the soon coming King. Amen.

And to all my fellow young disciples with me all over the world – to all who are truly hungry and sincere in their pursuit of God. God has called us to know Him personally and intimately. By this, it means that there is nothing that can truly give us satisfaction and full fulfilment than knowing Him deeply in our hearts. Knowing God is not only an essential lifestyle, it is also an act of obedience! Having heard and responded to this call, our Master commands us to preach and teach others all that He has commanded us. Therefore, to all who have given themselves to knowing God and to advancing His Kingdom, grace and mercy and peace to you from God the Father and from the Lord Jesus Christ.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PREFACE

PART ONE: Getting To Know God

1. The Essentiality And Excellency Of The Knowledge Of God

2. Getting To Know God

3. How Can I Begin To Know God Personally And Intimately?

 

PART TWO: The Excellency Of God Over All His Creatures

 

PART THREE: The Excellency Of God’s Divine Nature:

1. The Excellency Of God’s Holiness

2. The Excellency Of God’s Greatness

3. The Excellency Of God’s Goodness

4. The Excellency Of God’s Love

5. The Excellency Of God’s Justice

6. The Excellency Of God’s Truthfulness

7. The Excellency Of God’s Wisdom

CONCLUSION

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PREFACE

 

Man was created with a need and a deep hunger in his heart. This hunger is the hunger to know God – his Maker, personally and intimately. Knowing God in one’s heart (not head) is therefore the only thing that can bring satisfaction to our hearts. Nothing else whatsoever can satisfy the hunger in man’s heart – not even sincere and true service to God.

Hos. 6:6

For I desire and delight in dutiful steadfast love and goodness, not sacrifice, and the knowledge of and acquaintance with God more than burnt offerings.  AMP

 

The adventure of knowing God is the greatest adventure anyone can ever have in time and eternity! There is nothing that can so thrill the heart and cause it to be so overwhelmed than the personal experience of the knowledge of God in the heart. It is natural for the heart of man to respond in praise when it beholds the greatness of his Creator; except that heart is hardened (Jer. 5:22-24).

The Lord has given us His Holy Spirit to reveal the Scriptures to us the way it truly is. We cannot know God in truth if we do not submit our hearts to the guidance of the Holy Spirit. Also, we may have head-knowledge of the truths of Scriptures, but yet, we will be so very dry and dead if we do not receive the truth into our hearts straight from the Holy Spirit. The greatest experience we can have is not that which we get during a time of praise and worship in the Church, but that which we have when we are alone with the Holy Spirit – the experience of being alone with the Holy Spirit as He takes me by the hand and guides me to explore deep depths of God’s Word. So he that must know God must learn to dwell in the Presence of God with a submissive heart.

Ps 16:11

You will show me the way of life, granting me the joy of your presence and the pleasures of living with you forever.  NLT

Ps 25:12, 14

Who is the man who reverently fears and worships the Lord? Him shall He teach in the way that he should choose.

The secret [of the sweet, satisfying companionship] of the Lord have they who fear (revere and worship) Him, and He will show them His covenant and reveal to them its [deep, inner] meaning.  AMP

 

Knowing God, therefore, is not in the least, boring, as many people think and experience. When I experience a boring time of Bible study, it is not because God’s Word is boring. No! God forbid! Rather, it is because I am not dwelling in the Presence of the Holy Spirit with a hungry and submissive heart. The moment I am conscious of His awesome Presence and I submit to Him, marvellous revelations begin to flow into my heart in the realm of the Spirit and this causes me to be filled with the Holy Spirit and inexpressible joy to the glory of God!

1 Peter 1:8-9

Without having seen Him, you love Him; though you do not [even] now see Him, you believe in Him and exult and thrill with inexpressible and glorious (triumphant, heavenly) joy. [At the same time] you receive the result (outcome, consummation) of your faith, the salvation of your souls.  AMP

John 15:11

I have told you these things, that My joy and delight may be in you, and that your joy and gladness may be of full measure and complete and overflowing.  AMP

 

We may go on to speak of the Heavenly experience you can have when you are submissive to the Holy Spirit to guide you into all truth. But you must go and immerse yourself daily in that experience even as I myself must determine to give myself unreservedly to this daily encounter with Jesus.

In this book, we simply want to meditate on GOD. I believe when you get to the bottom of any man’s heart, the last thing you will find is this question “GOD?” It is the deepest desire of every heart to know God as He is (whether we admit it or not). We want to meditate on the excelleny of God in two primary areas i. The excellency of God over all His creatures ii. The excellency of God’s divine nature.

The knowledge of God is so great that even a trillion books are nothing to describe His excellency in full. Also, the knowledge of God is so real and so deep that mere head-knowledge of it will not profit you; but what will profit you in knowing God is a personal experience of Him in your heart. To explain this with a little bit more detail, I humbly confess that at some points, as the Lord revealed some of these things to me, I have had to prostrate at His feet in reverent worship. This is because the Word of God is real and alive and it will cause you to be in awe and fear of God if you submit to the guidance of the Holy Spirit. May you see Jesus and fall at His feet in worship and submission as you read this book in Jesus name. Amen.

Israel Eziedo

March 2013

+2348160983239

+2348037258581

princeeziedo@yahoo.com

www.unveilingjesus.wordpress.com

www.discipleshipresources.wordpress.com

www.hisbooks.webs.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PART ONE:

GETTING TO KNOW GOD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. THE ESSENTIALITY AND EXCELLENCY OF THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOD

 

There is a hunger in every heart.

Ps 42:2

My soul thirsts…

 

This hunger in the heart of every man is basically to know. There are many things that men can try to use to satisfy this hunger in their hearts, but there is only one knowledge that can truly satisfy the hearts of men: THE KNOWLEDGE OF GOD. There is nothing that can give life to you other than this personal and intimate knowledge of God.

John 17:3

And this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom You have sent.

 

The knowledge of God is not only vitally essential to your being, but it is also far more excellent than any other thing you may acquire at any time. The thoughts of God is the greatest engagements of the human soul! Concerning this, Charles Spurgeon (at age twenty) said:

“It has been said by someone that ‘the proper study of mankind is man’. I will not oppose the idea, but I believe it is equally true that the proper study of God’s elect is God; the proper study of a Christian is the Godhead. The highest science, the loftiest speculation, the mightiest philosophy, which can ever engage the attention of a child of God, is the name, the nature, the person, the work, the doings, and the existence of the great God whom he calls his Father. There is something exceedingly improving to the mind in a contemplation of the Divinity. It is a subject so vast, that all our thoughts are lost in its immensity; so deep, that our pride is drowned in its infinity. Other subjects we can compass and grapple with; in them we feel a kind of self-content, and go our way with the thought, ‘Behold, I am wise’. But we come to this master-science, finding that our plumb-line cannot sound its depth, and that our eagle eye cannot see its height, we turn away with the thought that vain man would be wise…No subject of contemplation would tend to humble the mind, than thoughts of God… But while the subject humbles the mind, it also expands it. He who often thinks of God, will have a larger mind than the man who simply plods around this narrow globe…The most excellent study for expanding the soul, is the science of Christ and Him crucified, and the knowledge of the Godhead…Nothing will so enlarge the intellect, nothing so magnify the whole soul of man, as a devout, earnest, continued investigation of the great subject of the Deity. …This subject is eminently consolatory. Oh, there is, in contemplating Christ, a balm for every wound; in musing on the Father, there is a quietus for every grief; and in the influence of the Holy Ghost, there is a balsam for every sore. Would you lose your sorrow? Would you drown your cares? Then go, plunge yourself in the Godhead’s deepest sea; be lost in his immensity; and you shall come forth as a couch of rest, refreshed and invigorated. I know nothing which can so comfort the soul; so calm the swelling billows of sorrow and grief; so speak peace to the winds of trial, as a devout musing upon the subject of the Godhead. It is to this subject I invite you this morning…”

 

Because of the Excellency of the knowledge of God, the Lord has made it clear that if we are to seek to know Him, then we must treasure Him far above everything and everyone – including our lives.

Matt. 16:21

Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

 

Indeed, we are not at a loss if we forsake all to follow the Lord because the knowledge of God is far more rewarding (infinitely rewarding) than anything we can possess on earth!

Phil. 3:7-8

But whatever former things I had that might have been gains to me, I have come to consider as [one combined] loss for Christ’s sake. Yes, furthermore, I count everything as loss compared to the possession of the priceless privilege (the overwhelming preciousness, the surpassing worth, and supreme advantage) of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord and of progressively becoming more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him [of perceiving and recognizing and understanding Him more fully and clearly]. For His sake I have lost everything and consider it all to be mere rubbish (refuse, dregs), in order that I may win (gain) Christ (the Anointed One)   AMP

 

1 Tim. 4:8

For physical training is of some value (useful for a little), but godliness (spiritual training) is useful and of value in everything and in every way, for it holds promise for the present life and also for the life which is to come.  AMP

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. GETTING TO KNOW GOD

 

God’s will and burning desire is for all men to be saved from the penalty and control of sin and come to have a personal and intimate knowledge of Himself. Basically, His purpose is to give us eternal life (His very life!)

John 10:10

The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

1 John 5:11-12

And this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. He that hath the Son hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God hath not life.

1 Tim. 2:3-5

This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus   NIV

 

From Scriptures, we see that there is a close connection between salvation and coming to know God.

Matt. 11:28-30

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light.”

 

A man MUST first be saved before he can ever begin to know God personally and intimately. There are three basic things that prevents a sinner from knowing God in his heart:

 

  1. THE PRESENCE OF SINS:

God is so holy that He cannot behold sin or look on iniquity; He cannot bear sin, neither can anyone commend sin to Him.

 

Hab. 1:13

Thou art of purer eyes than to behold evil, and canst not look on iniquity…

 

So, if I allow sin in my life, I will be separated from God. God cannot defile His Holy Name by fellowshipping with a sinner.

Isa. 59:1-2

Behold, the Lord’s hand is not shortened, that it cannot save; neither his ear heavy, that it cannot hear: but your iniquities have separated between you and your God, and your sins have hid his face from you, that he will not hear.

 

Therefore, there is a need for me to be forgiven cleansed from my sins so as to be able to draw near to God in faith.

Isa. 1:18

Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.

Heb. 10:19, 22

Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus,

Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.

 

  1. THE PRESENCE OF A REBELLIOUS NATURE:

The natural man possesses a rebellious nature; a heart that is not willing to and cannot accept and submit to the Word of God.

Rom. 8:7

the sinful mind is hostile to God. It does not submit to God’s law, nor can it do so.  NIV

1 Cor. 2:14

But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

Therefore, for me to begin to know God personally and intimately, that rebellious nature must be destroyed and I must receive a new nature that is hungry, receptive and submissive to the truth.

Rom. 6:6, 7, 18, 22

Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin. For he that is dead is freed from sin.

Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness.

But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.

 

  1. THE ABSENCE OF THE GREAT TEACHER:

The Holy Scriptures reveals that only the precious Holy Spirit knows and can reveal God to my heart.

1 Cor. 2:10-11

But God hath revealed them unto us by his Spirit: for the Spirit searcheth all things, yea, the deep things of God. For what man knoweth the things of a man, save the spirit of man which is in him? even so the things of God knoweth no man, but the Spirit of God.

 

The Scriptures also reveal that the sinful man cannot receive the Holy Spirit; by implication, he does not have any possible means of knowing God the way He truly is. So, there is a need for God to deal with sin in my life so that I can receive the Gift of the Holy Spirit and be able to know Him personally and intimately.

John 14:17

Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.

Acts 2:38

Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.

 

3. HOW CAN I BEGIN TO KNOW

GOD PERSONALLY AND INTIMATELY?

 

First, we want to state expressly that no amount of human wisdom and strength can reveal God to you. It is only God that can make Himself known to you!

Matt. 11:27

All things have been committed to me by my Father. No one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and those to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.  NIV

 

So now we come to the question: what are the things that God expects to see in me before he can begin to reveal Himself to me wonderfully and powerfully? What are the basic tools I need to know God?

 

  1. A SINCERE HUNGER TO KNOW GOD

In knowing God, the first assurance of success that God gives to me is that if I truly desire to know Him, I will be filled. However, I should never expect to know Him if I’m not sincerely hungry for Him.

Matt. 5:6

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

 

It is God who actually puts the desire in my heart for me to seek Him. However, I must be careful not to harden my heart against this work of the Holy Spirit in me. I must respond rightly by holding unto that desire and making it mine.

John 6:44

No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.

Isa. 65:2

I have spread out my hands all the day unto a rebellious people, which walketh in a way that was not good, after their own thoughts;

Ps 27:8

When You said, “Seek My face,” My heart said to You, “Your face, Lord, I will seek.”

 

  1. BEING POOR IN SPIRIT

The first call here is for me to recognize and admit my desperate need for God’s Word. I desperately need God’s Word to live because I am not self-sufficient, but God is El-Shaddai (The All-Sufficient God). The second call is for me to recognize and admit my total inability to know God on my own. This will give the precious Holy Spirit room to mercifully and graciously work in me to reveal God to me.

Rev. 3:17

You say, ‘I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked.  NIV

Matt. 5:3

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

 

  1. SUBMITTING TO THE HOLY SPIRIT

If I have been filled with the precious Holy Spirit, then there is a supernatural working of the Holy Spirit in me to clearly reveal to me the Word of God. Without submitting my heart to Him, I will only struggle to understand God’s Word and end up with false interpretations of it.

1 John 2:20

But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and you know all things.…. But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him.

 

  1. DILIGENCE IN SEEKING GOD

There is a place where I must diligently and deliberately seek to know God from the Holy Scriptures. This does not mean that I struggle, but it means that I consciously and actively seek to know Him through the Scriptures and by His precious Holy Spirit in me. So it does not stop at desiring to know Him; I must consciously and submissively seek to know Him.

Jer. 29:13

And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PART TWO:

THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD OVER ALL HIS CREATURES

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD OVER ALL HIS CREATURES

 

Gen. 1:1

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.

 

Beloved, there are deeper truths in this precious portion of Scripture than we have any known. The depth of truth that lies in just this portion of Scripture cannot be sounded! Let us meditate on this portion of Scripture and see some of the great implications this simple statement in God’s Word has.

 

1. God was never created. He is the only uncreated Being in the entire universe. He is in a class all by Himself. Every other being or thing falls into the class of “creatures”.

 

2. All things were created by God; whether spiritual or natural, visible or invisible, eternal or temporal, all were created by God. Nothing in the universe came into being of its own will or power; everything was created by God’s own will and power. The implication is that everything is owned by Him, accountable to Him, controlled by Him and sustained by Him (Heb. 1:3; Rev. 4:11).

 

3. Nothing existed before Him. He began the beginning of all things. No matter how old or ancient a thing is, it has a definite point in which God brought it into being. God Himself is the Beginning that brought all things into being (Rev. 1:11).

 

4. Since God fully existed as God even before the universe was created, it reveals that He does not in any way depend on His creatures for anything. There is nothing all or any of His creatures can do that can add to, alter or subtract from His Being. He is God all by Himself! On the other hand, all of His creatures are wholly dependent on His will and power for sustenance (Heb. 1:3)

 

5. Since God is the only uncreated Creator, it means that all of creation exists for His pleasure and not the other way round. So if He bestows favour on any of His creations, it is not because it deserves it, but simply because God chose to do it (Rev. 4:11; Col. 1:16).

 

6. Since God created everything, He has perfect right of access to all things and absolute sovereignty over all things. He does what He wants with whom He wants and how He wants it and does not come under any form of questioning by anyone or anything. All He does in Heaven and on earth is being governed by the Spirit of righteousness. All creation on the other hand, must be under 100% submission to Him. For any creature that does anything outside God’s will, it is rebellion.

Rom. 9:20-21

But indeed, O man, who are you to reply against God? Will the thing formed say to him who formed it, “Why have you made me like this?” Does not the potter have power over the clay, from the same lump to make one vessel for honor and another for dishonor?

1 John 5:3

For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.

 

7. Since God created all things and has absolute sovereignty over all things, He can most willingly and effortlessly destroy everything in creation and cause all creation to cease to exist. But all creation put together cannot bear to even stand against God (1 Cor. 10:22).

 

8. Since God made all things but was not created, it means only Him can never end. He can put every other thing to an end, but nothing and no one can take God out of existence (1 Tim. 6:16).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PART THREE:

THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S DIVINE NATURE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

God is a Person (He is not a thing or a feeling or the figment of an imagination as many have been deceived to believe – He is a real Personality). The consequence of this is that He has a divine nature (certain qualities essential to His Being). These qualities are also referred to as ‘pillars of God’s divine nature’ and they are seven in number. From our brief study so far, at this point, we can confidently say that God is excellent in His divine nature above all creation.

Isa. 40:25

To whom then will ye liken me, or shall I be equal? saith the Holy One.

 

SEVEN PILLARS OF GOD’S DIVINE NATURE

  1. God is Holy
  2. God is Great
  3. God is Good
  4. God is Love
  5. God is Just
  6. God is Truth
  7. God – the Only Wise

 

By God’s grace, we will not be looking at them in details here; rather, we would be seeing how God infinitely excels in them. We pray the Lord opens our eyes to see deep things from His Word. To read about the seven pillars of God’s divine nature in detail, please read “GETTING TO KNOW GOD PERSONALLY AND INTIMATELY” – Kelvin Stewart (available for free @   www.unveilingjesus.wordpress.com ).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S HOLINESS

 

Holiness is a divine quality of being totally pure from every sin and uncleanness. Holiness is a divine quality that demands worship – adoration and reverence. Adoration in worship stems from beholding the glory (beauty) produced by God’s holiness. Reverence in worship stems from acknowledging that the Holy God cannot bear and will not tolerate any form of sin from the worshipper.

Ps 99:5, 9

Exalt ye the Lord our God, and worship at his footstool; for he is holy.

Exalt the Lord our God, and worship at his holy hill; for the Lord our God is holy.

 

The Scriptures expressly reveal that ONLY God is Holy; therefore only He is worthy of worship.

Rev. 15:4

Who shall not fear You, O Lord, and glorify Your name? For You alone are holy. For all nations shall come and worship before You, for Your judgments have been manifested.

 

God commands all His creatures to be holy and He makes them holy. The basic reason for this is so that we may be worthy to draw near to Him in worship and offer sacrifices.

1 Peter 1:15-16

But as he which hath called you is holy, so be ye holy in all manner of conversation; because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.

Num 8:21-22

And the Levites purified themselves and washed their clothes; then Aaron presented them like a wave offering before the Lord, and Aaron made atonement for them to cleanse them. After that the Levites went in to do their work in the tabernacle of meeting before Aaron and his sons; as the Lord commanded Moses concerning the Levites, so they did to them.

Rom 15:16

That I should be the minister of Jesus Christ to the Gentiles, ministering the gospel of God, that the offering up of the Gentiles might be acceptable, being sanctified by the Holy Ghost.

James 4:8

Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.   

Heb 10:19, 22

Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus,

Let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water.

Rom 12:1

Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God — this is your spiritual act of worship. NIV

 

But even after we have been purified by God, God’s holiness is exceedingly greater than that of His creations. He is the thrice holy God – more holy than the holiest holiness.

1 Sam 2:2

There is none holy as the Lord: for there is none beside thee: neither is there any rock like our God.

Rev 4:8

The four living creatures, each having six wings, were full of eyes around and within. And they do not rest day or night, saying:

“Holy, holy, holy,

Lord God Almighty,

Who was and is and is to come!”

Isa 6:1-3

In the year of King ‘Uziyahu’s death I saw Adonai sitting on a high, lofty throne! The hem of his robe filled the temple. S’rafim stood over him, each with six wings — two for covering his face, two for covering his feet and two for flying. They were crying out to each other,

“More holy than the holiest holiness

is Adonai-Tzva’ot!

The whole earth is filled

with his glory!”  CJB

 

 

 

2. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S GREATNESS

 

Greatness, in essence, is a divine quality that demands praise – exaltation and celebration.

Ps 145:1

Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; and his greatness is unsearchable.

 

A great being is one whose real qualities (nature), ways, works and possessions are far more excellent and exceedingly higher and abundant than those of any other being in existence.

 

# There is none like unto the Lord. He is far more excellent in His divine nature than any being that ever existed.

Ex 15:11

Who is like unto thee, O Lord, among the gods? who is like thee, glorious in holiness, fearful in praises, doing wonders?

 

# The ways of God are far more excellent than those of any created being.

Rom 11:33

O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out!

Isa 55:8-9

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

 

# The works of God are far more excellent and more exceedingly abundant than those of any created being. Indeed, all creatures are the works of His hands so there is none whose works are greater than His.

Job 5:8-9

But as for me, I would seek God, and to God I would commit my cause — Who does great things, and unsearchable, marvelous things without number.

# Concerning ‘possessions’, we conclude that God created all things, sustains all things and therefore, owns all things. There can therefore be none who may dream of possessing greater wealth than God.

Col 1:16-17

For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones, or dominions, or principalities, or powers: all things were created by him, and for him: and he is before all things, and by him all things consist.

 

Whatsoever any creature has, it received from God and must be used in such a way that only God will be glorified and to bring pleasure to His heart. So, we are only stewards, God is the only Owner.

Dan 4:32

…the most High ruleth in the kingdom of men, and giveth it to whomsoever he will.

John 3:27

John answered and said, A man can receive nothing, except it be given him from heaven.

Rev 4:11

Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.

 

The conclusion of this is: God is greater than all and because God is great and His greatness is unsearchable, I am indebted to praise Him deeply all the time for all eternity!

Deut 10:17

For the Lord your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality nor takes a bribe.

Ps 145:1-3

I will extol thee, my God, O king; and I will bless thy name for ever and ever. Every day will I bless thee; and I will praise thy name for ever and ever. Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; and his greatness is unsearchable.

 

 

 

 

 

3. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S GOODNESS

 

Goodness, in essence, is a divine quality that demands thanksgiving – appreciation. To be good basically means to be kind and helpful. The Scriptures expressly reveals that ONLY God is good.

Mark 10:18

…Jesus answered. “No one is good — except God alone.  NIV

 

Without God, no one is good. It is the Presence and supernatural working of God in a creature that makes it good; without God, all beings are evil.

Gal 5:22-23

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

Eph 5:9

(For the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness and righteousness and truth;)

 

But even at that, God’s goodness manifesting in men can never be compared to the goodness of His Personal Being.

Isa 46:5

To whom will ye liken me, and make me equal, and compare me, that we may be like?

 

Because of God’s most excellent and eternal goodness, I have an eternal cause to always offer thanksgiving to God.

Ps 30:11-12

Thou hast turned for me my mourning into dancing: thou hast put off my sackcloth, and girded me with gladness; to the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever.

 

 

 

 

 

4. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S LOVE

 

Love is a desire for and a delight in the wellbeing of the beloved. Love is the central quality of God’s very Being.

1 John 4:16

And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.

 

Since Love is a Person, (God is Love), it means that no created being can have love in himself except it is given him by God.

Rom 5:5

…God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.  NIV

 

The Love of God in men may wax cold or be lost if we are not extremely careful. But the love of God can never be quenched or measured with anything whatsoever!

Matt 24:12

And because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold.

Rev 2:4

Nevertheless I have this against you, that you have left your first love.

Song 8:7

Many waters cannot quench love, neither can the floods drown it: if a man would give all the substance of his house for love, it would utterly be contemned.

 

But even among those who have true, fervent love for God, there is none whose love can match the love of God!

Isa 46:5

To whom will ye liken me, and make me equal, and compare me, that we may be like?

 

There are basically two right responses to God’s love:

  1. Diligently seeking to know His love
  2. Wholeheartedly believing His love.

So because His love is infinite, I must always be found diligently seeking to know God and putting my entire faith and trust in God.

Eph 3:17-19

That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; and to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

1 John 4:16

And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S JUSTICE

 

JUST, is a divine quality of being right and fair. JUSTICE is the act of putting that quality into practice.

Zech 9:9

Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion! Shout, O daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your King is coming to you; He is just and having salvation, lowly and riding on a donkey, a colt, the foal of a donkey.

Acts 3:14

…the Holy One and the Just…

Isa 9:7

Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this.

 

So we weigh the excellency of God’s justice by this quality of His Being – God is Just. So even though a creature may deal rightly and pass fair judgment, yet God is exceedingly more excellent in His quality of being Just than all His creatures!

Job 4:17

Shall mortal man be more just than God? shall a man be more pure than his maker?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S TRUTHFULNESS

 

Truth is the divine quality of being real, sincere and exact with one’s being. Truthfulness is the practice of presenting oneself the way one is in reality. God is Truth and He excels in His truthfulness in that everything He does is the perfect representation of His Being. He is the ONLY unchangeable One.

1 John 5:7

…the Spirit is truth.

Deut 32:4

He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.

Mal 3:6

…I am the Lord, I change not…

 

The witness that God gives is the perfect truth. Only God’s witness is the truth. Anything that does not submit and proceed from the witness of God is a lie.

Rom 3:4

…Let God be true, and every man a liar. As it is written: “So that you may be proved right when you speak and prevail when you judge.”  NIV

John 17:17

Sanctify them by Your truth. Your word is truth. NKJV

1 John 5:6

…And it is the Spirit that beareth witness, because the Spirit is truth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. THE EXCELLENCY OF GOD’S WISDOM

 

Wisdom is the divine quality of BEING and LIVING in perfect conformity to the standard set for that particular being.

Eccl 7:12

For wisdom is a defence, and money is a defence: but the excellency of knowledge is, that wisdom giveth life to them that have it.

 

God is the only wise Being; every other creature (without God) is foolish. This is because, since God was not created, He is not seeking to conform to any standard; HE IS – He is the “I AM that I AM”. On the other hand, God created all things; so all creation must seek the face of God to reveal to it the way it ought to be and live.

Rom 16:27

To God only wise, be glory through Jesus Christ for ever. Amen.

Ex 3:14

And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

Acts 17:24-28

“The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands. And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything, because he himself gives all men life and breath and everything else. From one man he made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us. ‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’  NIV

 

The Lord Jesus Christ is the wisdom of God (He is the perfect representation of God’s Being and Life).

Heb 1:3

The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.  NIV

 

In Christ Jesus, we (all men) see the wisdom that God has prepared for mankind. We were destined by God to be just like the Lord Jesus Christ in nature and lifestyle.

Rom 8:29

For those God foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.  NIV

 

So the more of Jesus I see in Scriptures, the more I see who God created me to be and how He commands me to live.

2 Cor 3:18

And all of us, as with unveiled face, [because we] continued to behold [in the Word of God] as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are constantly being transfigured into His very own image in ever increasing splendor and from one degree of glory to another; [for this comes] from the Lord [Who is] the Spirit.  AMP

2 Cor 4:6

For God Who said, Let light shine out of darkness, has shone in our hearts so as [to beam forth] the Light for the illumination of the knowledge of the majesty and glory of God [as it is manifest in the Person and is revealed] in the face of Jesus Christ (the Messiah).  AMP

 

I am wise if I seek God to know and conform to the pattern God set for my life; but I’m foolish if I do not seek Him to know how I ought to be and live. Knowing this, it is only essential that I set my whole heart on seeking God’s face so that I will be in perfect conformity to His perfect standard for my life.

Rom 12:2

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.  NKJV

Eph 5:14-17

for it is light that makes everything visible. This is why it is said: “Wake up, O sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” Be very careful, then, how you live — not as unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the Lord’s will is.  NIV

Prov 2:10-17

When wisdom enters your heart, and knowledge is pleasant to your soul, discretion will preserve you; understanding will keep you, to deliver you from the way of evil, from the man who speaks perverse things,  from those who leave the paths of uprightness to walk in the ways of darkness; who rejoice in doing evil, and delight in the perversity of the wicked; whose ways are crooked, and who are devious in their paths;  to deliver you from the immoral woman, from the seductress who flatters with her words, who forsakes the companion of her youth, and forgets the covenant of her God.   NKJV

 

Having seen that there is none that can compare to God in all seven pillars of His divine nature, we make a final and eternal conclusion that there is none beside God and there is none like unto Him. Amen.

1 Sam 2:2

There is none holy as the Lord: for there is none beside thee: neither is there any rock like our God.

Isa 46:5

To whom will ye liken me, and make me equal, and compare me, that we may be like?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CONCLUSION

The purpose of this book is so that you can know God more personally and intimately. The purpose of knowing Him is so that you can believe in Him more and so that your heart can respond better to His love.

1 John 4:16

And we have known and believed the love that God has for us. God is love, and he who abides in love abides in God, and God in him.

 

Having known, believed and experienced His love, what next? Keep on knowing and enjoying more and more of His infinite love! Hallelujah! Amen!

Eph 3:14-19

When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father,  the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.   NLT

 

Grace and peace to you from God the Father and from the Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bro. Israel Eziedo

Leave a Reply

