FOR MY NAME’S SAKE (Amaka 2)

FOR MY NAME’S SAKE…

(Amaka 2)

  

 

Matthew 10:22

And ye shall be hated of all men for My name’s sake: but he that endureth to the end shall be saved.

 

 

Israel Eziedo

 

 

 

DEDICATION

This work is dedicated to my Darling Father, the Lord Jesus Christ. The Prince of Peace, Lord of lords and King of kings. It is He who has picked us up from the miry clay where we were set for destruction and has given us an inheritance among them who are sanctified by His Word. To Him be glory and honour and majesty and dominion and power both now and forever, in Jesus Name, Amen!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

DEDICATION

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PREFACE

FOR MY NAME’S SAKE…

GLOSSARY

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PREFACE

There are many challenges that the teenagers of my generation face today. Challenges in regard to what they suffer from the hands of people. It is inevitable to live on earth without being chastised by men. But the question is; for what reason are you being chastised?

If you suffer because of your wrongs, there is no gain in that. But if you suffer for the cause of Christ, then is there eternal glory awaiting you. (1 Peter 2:19-23; Galatians 6:9).

This play, along with other lessons which it teaches by the grace of God, is aimed at revealing to the young people of this generation the established truth that all who will stand for righteousness WILL face persecution and trials.

 

2 Tim 3:11-14

You know how much persecution and suffering I have endured. You know all about how I was persecuted in Antioch, Iconium, and Lystra—but the Lord rescued me from all of it. Yes, and everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will suffer persecution. But evil people and impostors will flourish. They will deceive others and will themselves be deceived.

But you must remain faithful to the things you have been taught… NLT

 

It is my sincere prayer that you will see Jesus in His book in Jesus Name! Amen

 

NOTE: On a professional basis, this play does not meet certain academic standards. It was originally written as a movie script. However, it has pleased the Lord to have His children receive this Heavenly material. Therefore, the original script was simplified and edited so as to take a ‘play’ form for easy reading and understanding. The play, therefore, is not suited for acting on stage as it is something in between a drama and a movie.

 

Israel Eziedo

2013

+2348160983239

princeeziedo@yahoo.com

www.discipleshipresources.wordpress.com

www.hisbooks.webs.com

www.unveilingjesus.wordpress.com

 

 

ACT 1

SCENE 1. BLESSED COLLEGE. EXT. DAY.

Scene opens on the exterior of a private school’s compound. It is the visiting day of the school. Pockets of students are seen around. Some students are with their parents; some teachers are also seen around. In a shade under a tree, Amaka is seen with Joyce (a junior student) and Joyce’s mother.

 

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

(Smiling in joy and gratitude) I am so grateful to you, my daughter. Ever since you became Joyce’s school-mother, Joyce has completely changed. She is now spiritually strong as well as morally and academically strong.

AMAKA:

Mummy, it’s not me you should thank. Thank God. God is the One that changed your daughter not me.

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

(Lifts up her hands) Ah! Thank You God! (To Amaka) You need to have seen Joyce during this last mid-term break. She was just the perfect daughter.

AMAKA:

(Chuckles and pinches Joyce’s chin) I believe God has great plans for our lives and He will bring them to pass if we continue being faithful to Him. And I trust Joyce will always be faithful to God. Won’t you Joyce?

JOYCE:

(Smiles broadly) I will always remain faithful to God by His grace.

AMAKA/JOYCE’S MOTHER:

Amen! Amen!

 

From a far part of the school compound, Samuel is seen moving around looking for someone. He goes over to some girls and talk to them. They point to where Amaka is. Samuel immediately begins to run towards her.

 

 

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

Please continue to take care of Joyce for me. Always watch her and continue to teach her the Word of God.

SAMUEL:

(Joining them) Good afternoon ma.

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

Good afternoon my dear, how are you?

SAMUEL:

I am fine ma. Mummy, hope you brought provisions for us too?

AMAKA:

(Laughing) Mummy, please don’t mind my twin brother. He likes being naughty.

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

Wow! I never knew you had a brother talk more of a twin brother.

SAMUEL:

Oh! She has been hiding me right?

AMAKA:

(Nudges Samuel) What is it? Why are you following me around like a hand bag?

SAMUEL:

(Bends and whispers something to her)

AMAKA:

(Elated) Serious? (To Joyce’s mother) Mummy, please excuse me, my parents are around.

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

(Dips her hand in her bag and brings out some money) Please manage this little money.

SAMUEL:

(Quickly collects the money) Thank you very much ma. I will see to the equitable distribution of this resource.

AMAKA:

Thank you ma (To Joyce) I will see you later ok?

JOYCE:

Yes senior Amaka.

 

Shot follows Amaka and Samuel as they turn to leave. They take hurried steps and talk humorously as they walk.

 

AMAKA:

Sammy, hope you know that that money was for me? But since we are siblings, I will allow you to share it fifty-fifty.

SAMUEL:

Fifty what? Look, I am the senior and as the senior, I have the right to the lion’s share. So I will make it sixty-forty.

AMAKA:

No way! It is either fifty-fifty or nothing for you. And by the way, who told you that you are my senior?

 

Shot follows Amaka and Samuel until they get to the car where their parents are waiting for them.

 

AMAKA:

(Hugging her parents) Good afternoon mum, good afternoon dad.

MRS. GRACE:

Good afternoon my beautiful daughter. How have you been?

MR. IDOKO:

Yes, how have you been and how are your studies?

AMAKA:

Fine ma, I thank God. I am fine and I am doing well in my studies too.

SAMUEL:

(Cutting in) Mummy, which of us is the senior?

MRS. GRACE:

(Shocked) Ah ah! How can you ask your mother who is the senior?

SAMUEL:

(Chuckles) No, I meant Amaka and me. Which of us did you give birth to first?

MR. IDOKO:

(Clears his throat) What is the matter? Because I know that whenever this issue of seniority comes up, something is about to be shared.

AMAKA:

A visiting parent gave me some money. Sammy collected it and started claiming seniority. Mummy please who is the senior amongst us? Please tell us so that we can share the money appropriately.

MRS. GRACE:

Well, I am not going to tell you who the senior is. You two must learn to live amicably and in unity. (Jokingly) And since you have been collecting money from other people’s parents, I think I will give you both half of the money I brought for you.

SAMUEL/AMAKA:

(Protesting) Ah! No o! Mummy please!

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 2. BLESSED COLLEGE. GIRL’S HOSTEL. INT. EVE.

Scene opens on the interior of the girl’s hostel. There are bunks around and some girls are lying on them. Amaka is seen sitting on her bed, reading the Bible. She is evidently reading from (1 Pet. 3:1-6).

 

AMAKA:

(Speaking to herself in a low tone) …even the ornament of a meek and quiet spirit, which is in the sight of God of great price. …whose daughters ye are, as long as ye do well.

 

Amaka takes a pen and underlines 1 Pet. 3:1-6. She drops the Bible (still opened) and kneels down to pray. She prays silently for a while, and then she gets up and makes to leave the hostel). As Amaka is about to exit the door, Joyce comes in. They are both dressed in their compound uniforms.

 

JOYCE:

Good evening senior Amaka.

AMAKA:

Good evening Joyce. Where have you been?

JOYCE:

I was sent by the matron to call some girls.

AMAKA:

Ok. Have you taken your bath this evening?

JOYCE:

No, but I was about to do that.

AMAKA:

Alright. But hurry up so that you can finish before it is time for prep.

JOYCE:

Yes, senior Amaka.

 

Amaka walks out of shot. Joyce goes into the hostel. Her bed is the bunk above Amaka’s bed. As she is about to climb up, she notices Amaka’s Bible. She picks it up and read for a while. Then she brings out a book and a pen from her bag and writes down the Bible passage; 1 Pet. 3:1-6. There are many other Bible passages written in the book. She drops the Bible and puts back the pen and book. She goes over to a bigger bag and brings out a towel.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 3. BLESSED COLLEGE. BOY’S HOSTEL. INT. EVE.

Scene opens on the interior of the boy’s hostel. As in the girl’s hostel, some students are seen on their beds. Samuel is also seen, praying. He is sweating profusely as he prays; moving up and down and praying at the top of his voice. All the other students are evidently unhappy. Some murmur while a few others leave the hostel in anger and frustration.

 

SAMUEL:

(Shouting out loud and making rough, violent movements with his fists and legs) Oh Lord! Anything that shall stand against me to prevent me from getting “A1” in my exams, I command fire! fire!! fire!!! Anything that will make me to read and not to understand, Holy Ghost… fire!!!

 

The House Master comes in and stands still looking surprised. Some of the students who left the room stand behind the House Master, evidently showing that they had gone to report Samuel.

 

SAMUEL:

(Still praying loudly and roughly without noticing the House Master) Aaahh!! Lord God! Anything, anybody that want to make me have f9 in my exams, I rebuke, I cancel, I reject, I bind, I loose, I scatter, I demolish, I consume (Moves towards the House Master and unconsciously throws a fist at him).

HOUSE MASTER:

(Grabs Samuel’s arm and holds it firmly).

 

Samuel struggles in vain to free himself for a while, then he opens his eyes and jerks in shock. Some students burst out into laughter.

 

HOUSE MASTER:

(Let’s go of his hand) What is wrong with you? Are you the only one that knows how to pray? Why do you want to bring down the hostel with your prayers? Don’t you know how to pray quietly without disturbing others?

 

SAMUEL:

(Looking sad) I am sorry sir.

HOUSE MASTER:

You better learn how to pray quietly without disturbing people otherwise I will take actions that you won’t like.

SAMUEL:

(Sad, with head bowed) I am sorry for disturbing sir.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ACT 2

SCENE 1. BLESSED COLLEGE. CLASS. DAY.

Scene opens on Amaka’s class. The class is a science class and the students are quietly seated. The teacher writes an equation on the board and turns to the class.

 

MATHS TEACHER:

Who can solve the equation on the board for us?

 

About three students raise up their hands including Amaka.

 

MATHS TEACHER:

Miss Amaka, please come and solve the equation for us.

 

Amaka gets up, collects a chalk from the teacher and begins solving correctly.

Cut to Samuel’s class. The poem “NIGHT” is written on the board.

 

“NIGHT” -Israel Eziedo

 

‘When all is dark

And chirps turn to snores

Night has come

And it is time for sores.

 

Night is day to my foe

Braying all night like a doe

When I rest from the sow

Sleeping gently like a dove.’

LITERATURE TEACHER:

Samuel Idoko, please stand up and give us a brief analyses of the poem on the board.

SAMUEL:

(Stands up confidently) ‘Night’ by Israel Eziedo. The poem is based on the Scripture where Jesus said, “I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.”

 

Shot cuts at intervals to reveal Amaka still solving the equation and back to Samuel. But all through, Samuel’s voice is still heard.

 

SAMUEL:

God has given all of us various gifts and just as the Bible says, “Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy youth…” We must all serve God with our gifts now because when the night comes, we will not have the opportunity to serve again. We may not see the reward now, but later the reward will come if we serve God faithfully. People may laugh at us now, but if we continue with Christ, our sorrow will be turned to joy. However, if we don’t serve God now, there will be nothing for us tomorrow but sorrow and regret. Thank you (sits down).

 

Cut to Amaka as she finishes solving the equation and hands the chalk back to the maths teacher.

MATHS TEACHER:

(Looks at the board) Wow! That’s very neat and accurate. Please put your hands together for Miss. Amaka.

 

Cut to Samuel’s class.

LIT. TEACHER:

Great! That was a wonderful analyses Samuel. I am sure that one day you will become a great poet for Christ. Please clap for him.

The sounds of the clapping from the two classes are combined.

CUT.

 

SCENE 2. SUZAN’S HOUSE. INT. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of Suzan’s house (her room). Suzan is seen playing loud music from a sound system and is dancing roughly. The room is in total disarray. After a while, Suzan’s father opens the door and comes in looking totally amazed.

 

SUZAN’S FATHER

(Shouts above the music)   SUZAN!!!

SUZAN

(Jerks up in shock and hurriedly turns off the stereo) Daddy welcome.

SUZAN’S FATHER

Suzan what is the meaning of this? So you have turned my house to a disco hall right?

SUZAN

Ah ah, daddy I was just playing a song now.

SUZAN’S FATHER

(Looking around in disappointment) Suzan, just take a look at your room. See the way your room is looking like where a mad woman is living. When last did u sweep this room Suzan?

SUZAN

(Indifferent) I can’t remember, but I was planning to sweep it today.

SUZAN’S FATHER

I can see that leaving you as a day student has given you too much freedom. Get your things ready, tomorrow I am taking you to your school to enrol you as a boarding student.

SUZAN:

(Disappointed) But dad, you cannot do that to me!

SUZAN’S FATHER:

I can and I will. Better start getting your things ready. (Turns and leaves the room).

 

Suzan flies into a rage and begins throwing and kicking things around.

CUT.

SCENE 3. BLESSED COLLEGE. CLASS. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of a classroom. Amaka is seen teaching Samuel how to solve some maths equations. Samuel is evidently disturbed and is not paying any attention. A few students are in the class reading.

 

AMAKA:

The easiest way to solve it is just to multiply the two equations by the coefficient of the first numbers. Like here, you multiply the equation by two and then (notices the confusion on Samuel’s face). Sammy, what’s the matter? Why are you looking so worried?

SAMUEL:

I don’t know. I am just confused. Anytime I am praying in the hostel, the other boys are always getting angry. The other day the House Master was scolding me for praying too loud. I don’t know why they don’t understand that I am praying loud so that God can hear me fast. I am just confused.

AMAKA:

(Smiling) Sammy, you don’t have to shout for God to hear you.

SAMUEL:

(Looks shocked) But if I don’t shout how will God in Heaven hear my prayers on earth? Or didn’t the Bible say that God lives in Heaven?

AMAKA:

It is true that God lives in Heaven. But the Bible also tells us that if we have the Holy Spirit in us, then God Almighty who lives in Heaven also lives in us.

SAMUEL:

So you mean I don’t have to shout before God can hear my prayers?

AMAKA:

Yes Sammy. That was one of the things Jesus meant when He said that we should go into our rooms, shut the doors and pray to God in secret and the God who sees in secret will reward us openly.

SAMUEL:

(Nodding his head in understanding) Eheeh…

 

AMAKA:

It’s good to express ourselves to God by speaking out loudly; but when we are in an environment with other people around, we should pray in righteousness i.e. pray with consideration for the people around us.

 

Running feet is heard outside and Joyce runs into the classroom panting.

 

AMAKA:

(Startled) Joyce what’s the matter? Why are running and panting like this?

JOYCE:

(Catching her breath) Good evening senior Amaka. Good evening senior Samuel. Senior Amaka, some girls are fighting in the hostel.

AMAKA:

(Shocked) Fighting!? What happened?

JOYCE:

One senior came in today and took senior Sandra’s bunk. Senior Sandra then came back to take her bunk and the girl refused so they started fighting.

AMAKA:

What of the Matron, where is she?

JOYCE:

I can’t find her. I searched around but I did not see her so I quickly came to call you.

AMAKA:

Alright, let’s go.

 

Amaka stands up to follow Joyce and Samuel stands up too.

 

AMAKA:

(To Samuel, with a note of humour) And where do you think you are going to?

 

SAMUEL:

To follow you to stop the fight of course.

AMAKA:

Have you forgotten that boys are not allowed into the girl’s hostel without permission from the Matron?

SAMUEL:

But you are my sister.

AMAKA:

Other girls in the hostel are not your sisters. Sorry, you cannot follow us. (To Joyce) Come let’s go. (Chuckles and exits with Joyce)

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 4. BLESSED COLLEGE. GIRL’S HOSTEL. INT. EVE.

Scene opens on the girl’s hostel. Suzan is seen quarrelling with Sandra. All the girls divide themselves and take sides. The place is in commotion.

 

SANDRA:

(Fuming at Suzan) Look here, Suzan or whatever you call yourself. You cannot just come here and throw people around.

SUZAN:

And who do you think you are to stop me from choosing where I want to stay? I can choose wherever I like and nobody can stop me. (Takes up her bag and drops it on the bed)

SANDRA:

It seems you are looking for trouble. I am going to give it to you. (Grabs Suzan’s bag and throws it to the ground).

 

Suzan slaps Sandra and they both start fighting along with other girls. Amaka and Joyce run into the hostel at this point.

 

AMAKA:

(Shocked at the scene before her. Shouts at them) What’s the meaning of all this?

 

The girls all stop fighting and stand apart fuming and silent.

 

AMAKA:

Will somebody tell me what is happening here before I take all of you to the Matron?

SANDRA:

It’s Suzan. She just came today and wants to take my bunk from me.

AMAKA:

Suzan is that true?

SUZAN:

(Arrogantly) What? Don’t I have the right to stay anywhere I want?

AMAKA:

You can stay on any bunk as long as it is not occupied. (Points to a free bunk) That bunk is free, you can take it instead.

SUZAN:

I will stay where I like and nobody will order me around! (Hisses and storms out of the room)

AMAKA:

(Turns to Sandra) And you Sandra, why didn’t you report her to the Matron? Why did you choose to fight with her?

SANDRA:

(Turning sober with apology)

AMAKA:

The next time anything like this repeats itself, I will personally report it to the Matron, so you better be careful.

SANDRA:

I am sorry. It won’t happen again.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ACT 3

SCENE 1. BLESSED COLLEGE. BOY’S HOSTEL. INT. EVE.

Scene opens on the interior of the boy’s hostel. It is prep-time and the hostel is empty. However, Chubby and Victor are seen in a corner hurriedly arranging and counting a lot of money in small currency. Samuel runs into the hostel, startling Chubby and Victor.

 

VICTOR:

(Angry) Samuel, what’s the matter with you? Do you want to cut somebody’s heart?

SAMUEL:

What are both of you doing here? Aren’t you supposed to be observing evening preps?

CHUBBY:

You nko? What are you doing here? Aren’t you supposed to be observing evening preps?

SAMUEL:

I forgot my Economics textbook so I came back to pick it.

VICTOR:

Please take your textbook and excuse us. (Returns to counting the money with Chubby)

 

Samuel goes over to his box to search for his textbook. He continues looking at Chubby and Victor with keen interest. He finally abandons his search and goes over to them.

 

SAMUEL:

Victor, Chubby, what are you guys planning to do with all that money?

VICTOR:

What is your business? Can’t you just mind your business for once?

SAMUEL:

Come on guys, tell me what’s popping.

 

Chubby leans and whispers something into Victor’s ears. Victor shakes his head in disagreement then later nods reluctantly.

 

CHUBBY:

(To Samuel) Well, if you must know, we are gathering money to buy some things.

SAMUEL:

But you can’t go out of the school till Saturday. Why are you in so much hurry?

VICTOR:

Dummy! That’s what you are! Can’t you see that we are planning to leave the school this night to buy some stuff?

SAMUEL:

(Surprised) But that is against the school rules and regulations.

CHUBBY:

See, Samuel, rules are made to be broken. If rules are not broken, then they are not rules anymore. (Continues counting)

SAMUEL:

(Looks at them in surprise and thoughtfulness for a while. Then…) Ehmmm… I want to join you guys.

CHUBBY:

What did you say?

SAMUEL:

I said I want to join you guys to go out this night.

VICTOR:

See, what we are going to do is not for small boys. Are you sure you can join us?

SAMUEL:

(Embarrassed) Of course, I am man enough.

VICTOR:

(Sizes him with his eyes. Then) Well, if you say so. But you have to bring some money otherwise, nothing for you.

SAMUEL:

(Goes over to his bag, brings out some money and gives to Chubby) Here, this is all I got.

CHUBBY:

Yea, now you are talking.

 

They all give high fives

FADE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 2. SCHOOL FENCE. SAME NIGHT.

Scene opens on the exterior of a far part of the school close to the fence. Samuel, Chubby and Victor are seen standing by the fence. They hurriedly pull off their school uniforms to reveal mufti clothes within. They pack their uniforms together beside the fence and with each other’s help, they all jump over the fence.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 3. BLESSED COLLEGE. INT. DAY.

Scene opens on a classroom. A group of female students in their compound wears are seen sitting in a semi-circle. On screening are Amaka, Joyce, Eunice, Sandra and six other girls. They are all with Bibles and Amaka is teaching.

 

AMAKA:

In Galatians 5:19, we see that one of the works of the flesh is uncleanness. This is one of the sins many people, especially young people overlook today. But God does not overlook it. Uncleanness involves acts such as masturbation, watching pornography, sexual fantasies etc.

 

As she calls the list, a few girls shift uncomfortably in their seats.

 

AMAKA:

Many young people say that they are virgins but within them, they are filled with all sorts of immorality and uncleanness. God is not just calling for sexual purity on the outside; He is also calling for purity on the inside, in our hearts.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 4. BLESSED COLLEGE. EXT. SAME DAY.

Scene opens on a walk-way in the school. Pockets of students are seen around the school compound with some teachers. Amaka is seen with Joyce, walking. Amaka’s arm is around Joyce’s shoulder.

 

AMAKA:

(To Joyce) Many people study the Bible and many others listen to the Word of God from pastors; but very few of them really shine the light of Christ in their lives. The reason is because when you receive the Word of God and you don’t understand it, the devil comes and steals it away from your heart.

JOYCE:

(Shocked) Senior Amaka, so you mean that the devil can actually steal the Word of God from our hearts if we don’t understand it?

AMAKA:

Yes. It is written in the Word of God. Let’s go over there and see it in the Word of God.

 

Amaka and Joyce move over to a corner of the school and sit on a raised platform. Amaka and Joyce bring out their Bibles from their bags.

 

AMAKA:

(Flips her Bible to Matthew 13:19-23) Turn to Matt. 13:19. We will read down to 23 but let’s go carefully. We will read one verse each. Read verse 19.

JOYCE:

(Reading from Scripture) Matthew 13:19, “When anyone hears the Word of the Kingdom and does not understand it, then the wicked one comes and snatches away what was sown in his heart. This is he who received seed by the wayside”

AMAKA:

Personally, I don’t know how the devil steals the Word from people’s heart, but I know that anytime we don’t understand the Word of God, the devil steals it from our hearts. Verse 20 says “But he who received the seed on stony places, this is he who hears the Word and immediately receives it with joy” verse 21.

 

JOYCE:

“Yet He has no root in Himself, but endures only for a while. For when tribulation or persecution arises because of the Word, immediately he stumbles”

 

Samuel is seen running towards Amaka and Joyce.

 

SAMUEL:

(Calling from a distance) Amaka! Amaka!! (Meets them and bends down beside, panting) Where have you been all this while?

AMAKA:

(Jokingly) So people that have twin brothers cannot rest again abi? What’s the matter?

SAMUEL:

My only twin sister; the epitome of beauty. You know you are my small mother. Nnem Amaka, my beautiful mother.

AMAKA:

(Chuckles) My funny brother. I know that whenever you flatter me like this, you will soon ask for something. So tell me, what is it this time around?

SAMUEL:

(Scratching his head) Well, not very much, I just want five hundred naira from you.

AMAKA:

Five hundred naira? For what?

SAMUEL:

I want to get some things that I need urgently.

AMAKA:

I thought you had some money with you. What happened to it?

SAMUEL:

(Silent, turns his head away, scratching his head)

 

 

AMAKA:

You have to be more careful in spending your money and besides I only have three hundred naira to spare. (Brings out a purse from her bag and gives him three hundred naira).

SAMUEL:

(Collects the money with joy) Oh my twin. Thank you so much. (Stands up, ruffles Amaka’s hair and runs out of shot)

AMAKA:

(Brushing his hand away) Hey! (Chuckles as Samuel leaves and then turns her attention back to Joyce) Sorry for that. Where were we?

JOYCE:

We just finished reading verses 20 and 21.

AMAKA:

Yea, so in those two verses, we see that whenever we receive the Word but don’t allow the Word of God to really take deep root in us, when trials and temptations come to test our faith, we will fall easily. Who is reading the next verse?

JOYCE:

You are to read next. Verse 22.

AMAKA:

Ok. “Now He who recieved seed among the thorns is he who hears the Word and the cares of this world and the deceitfulness of riches choke the Word and he becomes unfruitful” What do you think this verse is talking about?

JOYCE:

I think it’s pointing out that when we allow our worries to take over our hearts, instead of the Word of God, the Word of God will have no place to grow in us and so, we will not be fruitful.

AMAKA:

(Smiling) Exactly, amen, that’s just the truth, amen. Let’s read the last verse; verse 23.

JOYCE:

“But he who received seed on the good ground is he who hears the Word and understands it, who indeed bears fruit and produces: some a hundredfold, some sixty, some thirty” Senior Amaka, I have a question.

AMAKA:

Yes, what is it?

JOYCE:

How can I really understand the Word of God and allow it to take deep root in me?

 

Just then the school bell is heard out of view.

 

AMAKA:

It’s lunch time now. We have to go for lunch. Remind me to answer your question after lunch ok.

JOYCE:

Alright.

 

Amaka and Joyce stand up to leave.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 5. BLESSED COLLEGE. DINNING HALL. DAY.

Scene opens on the dining hall of the school. Several students male/female are seen sitting at various tables. Some students are already eating while others are on a line to collect their food from the food prefects. The food is rice and stew. Shot reveals Amaka as she collects her food and goes to sit in between Joyce and Eunice. Suzan collects her food and turns towards Amaka. An evil sneer cuts across Suzan’s face and she begins to move towards Amaka who is praying for her food. As Suzan comes close to Amaka, she deliberately trips and throws the hot food on Amaka’s arm. Amaka jumps up shouting in pain from the heat of the food.

 

SUZAN:

(Pretentiously grumbling for her food without minding Amaka) O my food! Oooh! What am I going to eat now? Kai! Oooh!

AMAKA:

(Looking sympathetic as she cleans the food from her cloth. Eunice stands up and helps in the cleaning) It’s ok. I’m sure it’s not your fault. (Takes her food and offers to Suzan) You can have my food. I have not started eating it yet.

SUZAN:

(Stands still, looking shocked and confused) WHAT!!!

AMAKA:

Don’t worry, you can have the food. I have some biscuits that I can eat in the hostel.

SUZAN:

(Utterly confused, shakes her head and runs out of the hall)

 

Amaka stands for a while looking confused, then shrugs and sits down. The whole hall is silent and gazing at Amaka.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

SCENE 6. GIRL’S HOSTEL. INT. NIGHT.

Scene opens on the interior of the girl’s hostel. It is night. Some girl’s are retiring while others are going out to take their baths. The students are all dressed in their compound wears. Amaka is seen with a towel around her neck. She brings out an empty Antiseptic container from her bag and looks at it in surprise. Joyce is reading a book on Amaka’s top bunk. Suzan is reading a novel on her bed. She is aware of the following conversation, but pretends not to be aware.

 

AMAKA:

(To Joyce) Joyce, I left this Antiseptic half full this morning. What happened to it?

JOYCE:

I took a little to bath this evening. But I saw senior Suzan taking it out of your bag after I finished using it.

AMAKA:

(Walks over to Suzan) Suzan.

 

SUZAN:

(Silent)

AMAKA:

Suzan!

SUZAN:

(Arrogantly) What is it?

AMAKA:

Joyce said you were the last person to use my Antiseptic. Why did you use all of it?

SUZAN:

(Indifferently) Well, I wanted to take a little but I mistakenly poured all of it into the water.

AMAKA:

(Smiles mildly) It’s alright. But next time ask me first and try to be careful not to waste it.

 

As Amaka goes back to her bed, a look of surprise cuts across Suzan’s face.

 

AMAKA:

(To Joyce) Let me rush to the Matron’s house and collect some Antiseptic. I will be back very soon (exits the hostel).

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 7. SCHOOL COMPOUND. NIGHT.

Scene opens on the exterior of the back of a classroom. Chubby, Victor and Samuel are seen walking slowly with their backs brushing the wall. As they move further, shot reveals the House Master coming out of a corner of a classroom block.

 

HOUSE MASTER:

(Sights the three boys) Hey! Stop there! Who are you?

 

The three boys immediately take to their heels. The House Master follows them in hot pursuit.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 8. SCHOOL COMPOUND. NIGHT.

Scene opens to reveal Amaka walking down a walk-way holding a Antiseptic in her hand. She is startled as Victor, Chubby and Samuel breeze past her. She sees their faces clearly. She stands for a while looking confused then she turns to continue walking. Just then, the House Master runs up and stops by her, panting, sweating and trying to catch his breath.

 

HOUSE MASTER:

(Half bent, trying to catch his breath) Amaka… who are those three… boys that just ran past you?

 

There is fear and confusion on Amaka’s face, as she stands, silent.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ACT 4

SCENE 1. PRINCIPAL’S OFFICE. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of the principal’s office. It is well furnished. The principal is seated behind his desk. Mr Idoko and Mrs. Grace are seated and Samuel is standing. All three adults have disappointment written across their faces. Samuel’s head is bowed in shame.

 

PRINCIPAL:

Mr. Idoko, what your son did is very disappointing. I never expected your son to be involved in such a notorious act. This school places a high demand for good behaviour and excellent moral conduct on the part of the students. What Samuel did deserves an indefinite suspension penalty. But because this is his first record of misconduct and his examination is near, I will reduce the punishment to two weeks suspension.

SAMUEL:

(Looks up and exclaims) Ah!

MR IDOKO:

(Barks at Samuel) Shut up my friend! Shut up your mouth! You should thank your God that you were not expelled.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 2. BLESSED COLLEGE. GARAGE. DAY.

Scene opens on the school’s garage. Amaka is seen standing beside her parent’s car. She is clearly worried and panicky. A while later, Mr. Idoko and Mrs. Grace are seen walking towards the car. Samuel is following them at a distance, with a letter in his hands and a back-pack on his back. They come close to the car.

 

AMAKA:

(With pain in her voice and fear on her face) Daddy…. Mummy….

 

Mr. Idoko stands and looks at her with anger in his eyes for a while, then turns and enters the car without a word.

 

AMAKA:

(Moves over to her mum) Mummy…

 

Mrs. Grace stands still, looks at Amaka for a while, then shakes her head and enters the car.

 

AMAKA:

(Turns to Samuel) Sammy.. Sammy..

 

Samuel simply walks and enters the car without so much as looking at her. The car revs and zooms off. Amaka remains standing there with tears streaming down her face.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 3. BLESSED COLLEGE. GIRL’S HOSTEL. INT. EVE.

Scene opens on the interior of the girl’s hostel. Amaka is seen reading a notebook on her bed. On another bunk, Suzan is seen gossiping with another girl. They are talking loudly about Amaka; deliberately, so as to hurt her.

 

SUZAN:

I heard that she shamelessly betrayed her brother by exposing him and his friends who were running away from a teacher.

GIRL:

Don’t mind her. Later she will be preaching to us to love one another when she cannot even love her own twin brother.

 

Tears begin to well up in Amaka’s eyes.

 

SUZAN:

(Hisses) Holy-holy sister! She wants to paint everybody black so that she can be the only good girl around.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 4. BLESSED COLLEGE. CLASS. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of Amaka’s class. The students are all seated quietly. The Christian Religious Studies teacher is standing in front of the class. Amaka and Eunice are both seated too.

 

CRS TEACHER:

Following the educational syllabus, we are supposed to treat “Law and Grace” today. But after giving it a thought, I decided that we should treat a more practical topic.

 

The CRS teacher goes to the board and writes the topic; “Wolves in sheep clothing”.

CRS TEACHER:

(Turns back to the class) The Bible tells us that there are wolves in sheep’s clothing among us. In fact, someone said that in every twelve people, there must be a Judas.

 

Some students giggle. Amaka’s face drops and she bows her head slightly. Eunice looks at her with concern.

 

CRS TEACHER:

We are more than twelve in this class, so there must be a Judas amongst us. There must be a betrayer amongst us.

 

Students echo “Yes” after the teacher. Tears well up in Amaka’s eyes.

CRS TEACHER:

Student’s, don’t trust anyone. We have people amongst us who can betray their own blood brothers and sisters. If they can betray their own blood, they will surely betray you.

 

Amaka bursts out into uncontrollable sobs and runs out of the class. Eunice hesitates for a while, and then runs out of the class after Amaka. The students begin to make jeers and indifferent faces.

CUT.

SCENE 5. BLESSED COLLEGE. EXT. SAME DAY.

Scene opens on the exterior of the school. There are no students outside. Eunice trots down a walk way looking around. She finally comes to a point and sees Amaka sitting under a tree. She hurries over to Amaka with sympathy and consolation.

 

EUNICE:

(Hugging Amaka and wiping her tears with her hands) It’s ok. Please stop crying Amaka. It’s alright.

AMAKA:

(Sobbing profusely) Why has everyone turned against me just because I told the truth? Eunice, what did I do wrong?

EUNICE:

You did not do anything wrong. People may not be happy, but God is happy. You did what God wanted you to do. So stop crying ok. God is pleased with you and that is all that matters. You remember what the Scriptures say in Philippians chapter 4 verses 6? Our Heavenly Father commands us not to worry about anything but rather pray about them. Let’s pray sister.

 

They bow their heads, Amaka sobbing lightly.

EUNICE:

Our Heavenly Father, we thank You for Your Holy Word which has commanded us not to worry or be anxious about anything but rather pray about everything. Father, in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, we present this matter before Your throne of grace. Your daughter took a stand for You and now she is being persecuted. You said this will come; You said we will be hated for Your name’s sake. But You also said that all things work together for our good because we love You and because we seek Your will in our lives. So Darling Father, we pray that You fill us with grace to endure until the end so that we shall be saved. Thank You Daddy because You will never fail. Your Word is yes and Amen! Hallelujah! We receive what we have asked for, in the precious name of Your Son Jesus Christ! Amen!

AMAKA:

Amen! (A look of great peace, joy and triumph appears on her face. She wipes the tears in her eyes and hugs Eunice) Thank you sister.

CUT.

SCENE 6. BLESSED COLLEGE. GIRL’S HOSTEL. INT. EVE.

Scene opens on the interior of the girl’s hostel. Amaka is lying down on the low bunk reading a notebook. Joyce is on the top bunk reading a book too. A few girls are in the hostel but Suzan is absent.

 

JOYCE:

(Looks down from her bunk) Senior Amaka.

AMAKA:

(Looks up) Yes my dear.

JOYCE:

You have not answered my question.

AMAKA:

Which question is that?

JOYCE:

I asked you to tell me how I can really understand the Word of God and allow it to have deep root in me.

AMAKA:

Oh, oh. But it wasn’t my fault; you did not remind me. (Chuckles) Ok, come down with your Bible let’s look at it together.

 

Joyce get’s her Bible and comes down. They both sit opposite each other on the bed.

 

AMAKA:

Ok, so last time, we saw that it is not enough to receive the Word of God. You have to understand the Word of God and allow it take deep root in your life. We are going to see two major things that can help us gain deep understanding of the Word of God so that the Word can take deep root in us. Let’s look at Ephesians 1:16-17. You will start reading.

JOYCE:

(Turns her Bible) Ephesians 1:16-17. “I have not stopped giving thanks to God for you. I remember you in my prayers”

AMAKA:

“And ask the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, to give you the Spirit, who will make you wise and reveal God to you so that you will know Him” From this Scripture, we can see that one of the things we can do to understand the Word of God is to ask for the revelation of the Word to our hearts as well as the wisdom to live our lives by the Word. This can only come by the Spirit of God so we have to pray first for the Holy Spirit to fill us. Another very effective way to understand the Word and allow the Word of God to take deep root in us is to meditate on the Word of God.

JOYCE:

What does it mean to meditate on the Word of God?

AMAKA:

To meditate on the Word of God means to deliberately direct our thoughts towards the Word of God. It is an act of choosing to think on the Word of God we have received in our hearts. Let’s read Joshua 1:8.

JOYCE:

(Flips her Bible and reads) Joshua 1:8 “Study this book of the law continually. Meditate on it day and night so that you may be sure to obey all that is written in it. Only then will you succeed.”

AMAKA:

So we see here that when we meditate on the Word of God, we will be careful to observe what the Word of God says. In order words, the Word of God will take deep root in us and then we will be successful and prosperous in our walk with Jesus. In Psalm 1:1-3, the Psalmist says that, blessed is the man that does not walk in the wisdom of men or the world; but his delight is in the Word of God and he thinks on the Word of God day and night.

JOYCE:

He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water that brings forth its fruit in season. His leaf also shall not whither and whatsoever he does shall prosper.

AMAKA:

(Clearly impressed) Amen. So you see, when we meditate on God’s Word, we bear fruits that others will benefit from.

JOYCE:

Some hundred, some sixty and some thirty; all depending on how much you put into it.

FADE.

SCENE 7. BLESSED COLLEGE. SCHOOL HALL. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of the school hall. All the students in Amaka’s and Suzan’s class are seated for an examination. On screening are Amaka, Samuel, Suzan, Eunice, Sandra, Chubby, Victor as well as other senior students. It is a school exam and shot reveals the paper to be Maths. There are two teachers in the hall. Chubby and Victor are seen at the extreme part of the hall exchanging strips of papers. Samuel is sitting behind Amaka and Suzan is sitting beside both of them. Shot reveals Samuel nudging Amaka to give him some answers. Amaka refuses all his pleas and nudges. Suzan watches them carefully but with discretion. Samuel tries all he could to get answers from Amaka to no avail. As the pressure from Samuel increases, Amaka raises up her hand and one of the teachers come over to her. Samuel immediately turns and focuses on his paper.

 

TEACHER:

Yes Amaka, what is it?

AMAKA:

Please sir can I change my seat?

TEACHER:

Why? What is wrong with where you are sitting?

AMAKA:

I don’t feel comfortable here.

TEACHER:

(Looks around her suspiciously and then looks at the students around her suspiciously too) You don’t feel comfortable?

AMAKA;

Yes sir.

TEACHER:

(Looks around her again suspiciously) Ok. Come with me.

Amaka stands up and follows the teacher who leads her to another seat, a good distance away. The teacher comes back to where Amaka was sitting and looks around again. Then he shrugs and moves away. A deep look of anger cuts across Samuel’s face and on Suzan’s face, a look of amazement.

FADE.

SCENE 8. MR. IDOKO’S HOUSE. DINING ROOM. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of Mr. Idoko’s house to reveal the dining room. Mr. Idoko, Mrs. Grace and Samuel are all seated to lunch. Soft music plays as they happily chat, laugh and eat. Amaka comes in and sits down. Immediately she sits down, Samuel frowns and leaves the table. Her parents stop eating and Amaka begins to feel sad. Mr. Idoko stays for a while, then shakes his head and leaves the table. Tears well up in her eyes and she bursts into uncontrollable sobs. Mrs. Grace goes over to her to console her but she squeezes loose from her grip and runs out sobbing. Mrs. Grace stands there looking worried and confused.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 9. JOYCE’S HOUSE. ROOM. MORNING.

Scene opens on the interior of Joyce’s mother’s bedroom. It is a well furnished bedroom. Joyce’s mother is seen reading a fashion magazine.  She’s looking confused and obviously unsatisfied. A knock is heard on the door.

 

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

Yes, come in.

JOYCE:

(Opens the door and enters the room looking joyful and all smiles) Good morning mum. (Hugs her mum)

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

Good morning my daughter. How was your night?

JOYCE:

It was fine ma. Thank God. Mummy what are you reading?

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

It’s an article on womanhood. I’ve read it twice but it’s not giving me what I want.

JOYCE:

But mummy, why are you still reading it if it is not giving you satisfaction?

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

My dear, what can I do? Other books that I know are just like this one, empty.

JOYCE:

(Smiling) Don’t worry mum. I know a Book that will tell you all you need to know about true woman hood. Where’s your Bible mum?

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

(Looking surprised, points to the mirror drawer) It’s in the second drawer.

 

Joyce goes over to the mirror drawer and brings out a Bible. She takes it and goes back to sit beside her mum.

 

JOYCE:

There was a passage that senior Amaka highlighted in her Bible. I copied it down and studied it and I saw that it talks about what makes a woman beautiful and valuable in the eyes of God and godly men. Mummy do you have another Bible so that we can read one verse each?

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

(Awestruck and impressed by her daughters behaviour) I think I have one in the wardrobe. (Stands up and searches her wardrobe for a while, then brings out a Bible and goes back to sit on the bed).

JOYCE:

Ok, we will read 1 Pet. 3:1-6. I will read verse one and two. “Wives, in the same way, be submissive to your husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the Word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives, when they see the purity and reverence of your lives.” Verse three.

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

“Your beauty should not come from outward ardornment such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and clothes”

JOYCE:

Verse four, “Instead, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.” Verse 5.

JOYCE’S MOTHER:

(Joy rising on her face) “For this is the way the holy women of the past who put their hope in God used to make themselves beautiful. They were submissive to their own husbands,”

JOYCE:

Verse six. “Like Sarah, who obeyed Abraham and called him her master. You are her daughters if you do what is right and do not give way to fear.”

FADE.

 

 

 

 

ACT 5

SCENE 1. MR. IDOKO’S HOUSE. PARLOUR. DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of Mr. Idoko’s living room. Samuel is seen sitting on the sofa, watching a football match. Amaka enters the parlour through an inner door. She stands by the door for while looking at Samuel. She finally braces up, walks over to him and sits down beside her brother.

 

AMAKA:

Sammy…

SAMUEL:

(Silent, frowns his face)

AMAKA:

Sammy…

 

Sound of gate opening is heard OOV.

 

AMAKA:

Sammy, please answer me. Sammy… (Reaches out to touch his arm)

SAMUEL:

(Brushes her hand away in anger) Don’t touch me!

AMAKA:

(Shocked) Sammy!

SAMUEL:

(Stands up) You are a wicked sister. You betrayed me and I was suspended for two weeks. That was not enough. You know I am not good in maths and I did not attend maths class for two weeks and still you refused to help me out in the exams.

 

A knock is heard OOV.

AMAKA:

(Tears flowing down her face) But Sammy, you know I had no choice but to…

SAMUEL:

(Cuts in) You know what? I regret having you as a sister. (Storms out of the parlour and goes to sit on the dining table. Amaka breaks down, sobbing).

 

Knock is heard again. After a while, as Amaka’s voice increases, the door is opened and Eunice enters into the house. She is shocked to see Amaka crying and she goes over to her.

 

EUNICE:

Amaka, what happened? Why are you crying like this?

AMAKA:

(Still sobbing, stammers) It’s Samuel. He’s mad at me for what happened in school.

 

Eunice immediately leaves Amaka and storms towards Samuel.

 

EUNICE:

(Confronting Samuel) Look here Samuel. I don’t know what you were thinking; but if you are going to hate your own twin sister because she spoke the truth, then go ahead. But let me make this clear to you: God is watching and He will surely pay you accordingly. (Walks back to Amaka and consoles her)

 

Samuel begins to turn sober. He sits pensively for a while, then stands up and exits the room.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

SCENE 2. MR. IDOKO’S HOUSE. ROOM. NIGHT.

Scene opens on the interior of Mr. Idoko’s bedroom. It is well furnished. The door is slightly opened. Mr. Idoko is working on some papers on the bed. Mrs. Grace is also sitting on the bed looking very troubled and worried.

 

MRS. GRACE:

(Turns to her husband after a while) Honey… Honey…

MR. IDOKO:

Yes dear, what is it?

MRS. GRACE:

Please we have to talk.

MR. IDOKO:

(Looks up and sighs) Alright, what are we talking about?

 

From the small opening in the door, we see Samuel’s figure pass by and then reappears in a position that shows he is eavesdropping on his parents, unknown to them.

 

MRS. GRACE:

It’s about our daughter, Amaka.

MR. IDOKO:

Yes, what about her?

MRS. GRACE:

Honey, I don’t like the way we have been treating our daughter.

MR. IDOKO:

But what was she thinking when she exposed her brother and refused to help him in the exams?

MRS. GRACE:

Honey, I think we should be more concerned about our children’s spiritual welfare than of their material welfare. What Samuel did was very wrong. He tried to leave school illegally and also tried to cheat in an exam. Amaka, on the other hand, chose to speak the truth and took her stand against examination malpractice. I think she should be commended and not maltreated.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SCENE 4. AMAKA’S ROOM. SAME NIGHT.

Scene opens on the interior of Amaka’s room. It is well furnished and beautifully arranged. Amaka is seen sitting on her bed, studying her Bible and making notes. A knock is heard OOV. She goes to open it and sees Samuel standing by the door. She immediately turns her back on him and makes to return to the room.

 

SAMUEL:

(Holds her hand and goes on his knees) My twin, I am really sorry for being so foolish all this while. Please forgive me.

 

Mr. Idoko and Mrs. Grace enter into the room from the exterior corner of the room.

 

MR. IDOKO:

Yes my dear daughter. You did the right thing and we were wrong.

MRS. GRACE:

Please forgive us for not being understanding. We are sorry.

AMAKA:

Turns back to face them with tears streaming down her face) I forgive you all. (Draws Samuel up)

 

The four of them all lock together in a tight embrace. They all stay together in a warm embrace then…

 

SAMUEL:

Mummy, I think it’s time to tell us who the senior is.

 

They all burst into laughter.

CUT.

 

SCENE 5. BLESSED COLLEGE. EXT. DAY.

Scene opens on the compound of Blessed College. It is evidently resumption day. Pockets of students are seen with their parents; most of them carrying bags and boxes. Many students are seen happily greeting and hugging each other. Samuel and Amaka are seen walking down a walk-way carrying a bag on each hand. Joyce runs into shot towards Amaka with joy on her face.

 

JOYCE:

Senior Amaka! (Runs and jumps on Amaka)

AMAKA:

How are you dear? How was your holiday?

JOYCE:

It was very, very, very wonderful. In fact, if not for you, I would have preferred to stay back at home. (To Samuel) Good afternoon senior Samuel.

 

At this point, Eunice also runs into shot towards Amaka.

 

EUNICE:

(Runs and hugs Amaka) Hey, my dear sister!

AMAKA:

(Elated) Wow! Eunice, you look fatter.

SAMUEL:

Wait, wait wait, everyone is just hugging Amaka; why is nobody coming to hug me?

 

The three girls burst out laughing.

CUT.

 

 

 

SCENE 6. BLESSED COLLEGE. GIRL’S HOSTEL. INT. DAY

Scene opens on the interior of the girl’s hostel. Amaka and Joyce are seen arranging their luggage. They are alone in the hostel.

 

AMAKA:

(Brings out a wrapped gift) Joyce, please help me go and give this gift to Eunice.

JOYCE:

(Collects the gift) Senior Amaka, what of my own gift?

AMAKA:

Don’t worry, when you return I will give you yours.

 

Joyce bounces out of the hostel, smiling. Amaka continues to arrange her things, humming a song as she does so. Suzan enters the hostel carrying her luggage.

 

AMAKA:

(Turns round and sees Suzan then moves and hugs her) Hi Suzan. How was your holiday?

SUZAN:

(Stands still looking embarrassed. Then…) Amaka, please how can I have the type of life you have?

AMAKA:

(Looks at Suzan with a broad smile on her face, then leads her by the hand to sit on the bed) God has great plans for all of us. But God’s greatest plan for us is for us to be saved and become His children. God so loved us that He gave His only begotten Son to die for our sins so that we can be saved if we believe.

SUZAN:

(Looking downcast) But my sins are so many. How can God forgive someone like me?

AMAKA:

God can freely forgive you because Jesus has paid the price for your sins. He took the punishment for your sins so that you can become God’s child.

 

SUZAN:

(Looking desperate) How can I become God’s child?

AMAKA:

The Bible says if we confess our sins, God is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all righteousness. If you truly believe that Jesus paid the price for your sins, then you can pray and God will make you His child right away.

SUZAN:

(Amazed) Just like that?

AMAKA:

Yes.

SUZAN:

(Goes on her knees) I want to become God’s child right away.

AMAKA:

(Goes on her knees and holds Suzan’s hands) Repeat this prayer after me:

 

Suzan repeats the following prayer after Amaka, line by line:

 

“Lord Jesus, I am a sinner,

I believe you died for my sins,

Please forgive me all my sins

And come into my life

Make me Your child today

Thank you Father for making me Your child

In Jesus name I pray.

Amen.”

 

AMAKA:

(Hugs Suzan) Welcome Home my sister.

Suzan’s face immediately lights up with joy. Joyce comes hopping into the hostel. She halts and smiles as she sees the sight in front of her.

 

AMAKA:

(Getting up) That reminds me, I brought a gift for you Suzan. (Goes to her bag and brings out a wrapped gift and gives to Suzan)

 

Suzan collects it and immediately starts tearing the wrapper.

 

JOYCE:

(Jealousy written on her face) Senior Amaka, what of my own gift?

AMAKA:

(Chuckles) Don’t worry, I have not forgotten you. (Brings out another gift and gives to Joyce)

JOYCE:

(Collects the gift) Thank you senior Amaka.

SUZAN:

(Tears opens the wrapper and brings out a new Bible) Wow! A Bible! I have never owned a Bible in my life. Thank you Amaka. Joyce, won’t you open your gift?

JOYCE:

(Shakes her head) No. I am happy now. I will open it when I am sad so that I can be happy all through.

 

They all burst into laughter.

CUT.

 

 

 

 

SCENE 7. BOY’S HOSTEL. INT. SAME DAY.

Scene opens on the interior of the boy’s hostel. There are no students in shot. Samuel comes into the hostel, whistling a song.

 

SAMUEL:

Wow! For the first time in my life, I am the first person to enter the boy’s hostel on resumption day. (Drops his bags by his bed and begins to stretch and yawn) Awww! Welcome to school Sammy boy (jumps and lands on his bed).

 

Just then, Chubby and Victor enter into the hostel carrying their bags. They see Samuel and walk over to him.

 

CHUBBY:

Hey Sammy!

VICTOR:

What’s up Sammy boy?

 

Samuel sits up and shakes their hands.

 

SAMUEL:

I’m cool. How was your holiday guys?

VICTOR:

It was cool man.

CHUBBY:

Yea, it was splendid. Hey Sammy, I was just discussing something with Victor.

SAMUEL:

Ok. What’s that?

 

CHUBBY:

We reckoned that security will not be tight today since it’s the first day of resumption.

VICTOR:

And we just came from home so we would have enough money to go out this night.

SAMUEL:

(Firmly) I am no longer going out with you guys!

CHUBBY:

(Shocked) Why?

SAMUEL:

Because it is wrong, illegal and sinful. I won’t go out with you guys again and I will also keep an eye on you guys. If I suspect any of your movements, be sure that I will report to the House Master immediately.

 

Chubby and Victor stand still looking at Samuel with anger, shock and confusion at their faces. They stay there for a while, and then they turn in anger and exit the hostel.

 

SAMUEL:

(Smiles and falls back on his bed) Sammy boy, you just won an award for the most courageous coward in Blessed College. (Closes his eyes and continues whistling the song).

CUT.

 

“To be continued…”

 

 

 

 

 

 

GLOSSARY

EVE: Evening

EXT: Exterior

INT: Interior

OOV: Out of view

 

 

Leave a comment